From The Get-Go

When I was young, I always loved the outdoors. I loved biking and I wished I had my own wheels (never happened though). I loved playing with my friends and cousins – we played dodgeball or matamaan ng bola, taya!; then, there’s also softball; agawang base; patintero; luksong baka; tumbang preso; ten-twenty or Chinese garter; bang-sak; sili, sili, maanghang; and the most famous of them all, langit, lupa, impyerno! and many more. I enjoyed all the sweat and how the sun kissed my skin. And then, high school came in and I toned down from the streets. I became much of a home-buddy; a couch potato, mostly.

College came in few years after. And I was just stunned by the people I’m surrounded with – they’re like making me realize that I’m in heck yeah! College of Communication! They’re like a bunch of bookworms and writers! If there’s one word to describe reading and writing to me, that is: E-F-F-O-R-T. It is such an EFFORT, dear friends.

Nonetheless, it was those people from my beloved academe that showed me how fun it is to read and to write. There’s something different about it, something different which you can only know once you engage in at it. And so, I tried. I tried my very best because I envied them. Haha! That shouldn’t be the term, but yeah, sorta-kinda-hafta envied them.

Today, while I’m getting more used to do writing – thanks to this blog – I am doubling my efforts when it comes to books and reading.

So far, in the entire twenty years of my life, I only have read 18 books (if I remembered them all right). And I bet, I wasn’t able to reach half of those books my college peeps have already read. The books I have read are as follows:

1. Charlotte’s Web by E. B. White
2. Wizard of Oz by Frank Baum
3. For One More Day by Mitch Albom
4. Five People You Meet In Heaven by Mitch Albom
5. Emily Ever After by I forgot who
6. Everyone Worth Knowing by Lauren Weisenberger
7. Twilight by Stephanie Meyer
8. New Moon by Stephanie Meyer
9. Maverick by Diana Palmer
10. Before the Flabbergasted book to which I forgot the title and author (hello Mari, help here please) :P
11. Size Twelve Is Not Fat by Meg Cabot
12. I forgot the title but I remember there’s a super big dog involved in the story by Meg Cabot
13. Title forgotten – all I remember there’s a wedding and there’s an involvement of the best man and maid of honor best friends in the story by Sophie Kinsella
14. The Summer of Cotton Candy by Debbie Viguié
15. Everything On A Waffle by Polly Harvath
16. Kapitan Sino by Bob Ong
17. Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins
18. Looking For Alaska by John Green

From these 18 books: 8 of them was borrowed from friends; 6 of them I own (bought either first or secondhand) in paperback; 3 of them I read courtesy of PowerBooks; and the other 1 is included in my iBooks.

I have yet to read:
Paperback-I-own Category
1. Fair Play by Deirdre Martin
2. Marley and Me by John Grogan
3. Maynard and Jennica by Rudolph Delson
4. Eat, Pray, Love by Elizabeth Gilbert
5. Prep by Curtis Sittenfield
6. Dark Storm by Kel Richards
7. The Love Curse of the Rumbaughs by Jack Gantos

iBooks Category
8. Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins
9. Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins
10. The Chronicles of Narnia by C.S. Lewis
11. Beastly by Alex Flinn

Yet-to-buy Category
12. The Fault In Our Stars by John Green
13. Why We Broke Up by Daniel Handler
14. Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close by Jonathan Safran Foer
15. Perks of Being a Wallflower by Steven Chbosky
16. Divergent by Veronica Roth
17. The Princess Diaries by Meg Cabot
18. Elixir by Hilary Duff (yes! She wrote a book!)
19. Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta
20. Undomestic Goddess by Sophie Kinsella

I think this would be a good start for doubling the effort in reading. Haha! :P I mean, it’s not at all bad. Stories read from books can speak to you in so many ways and bring you to so many places and there will be so many people you’ll meet along the way. It’s liberating. It’s being vulnerable to feelings you haven’t felt before – extreme anger, endless pain or unimaginable love. It’s about being you. A more sensitive you.

Find. Grab. Read. Write. Be mesmerized: read and find something to write from there. :D

NOTE: Posted this mostly for my own benefit! Haha!

6 thoughts on “From The Get-Go

  1. Oh I love those two books by Mitch Albom; he really drives you to tears, doesn’t he? And I think the book by Sophie Kinsella is probably one of the Shopaholic series? Maybe Shopaholic Ties the Knot?

    Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close is a very touching book, and if you like books by Sophie Kinsella, I recommend: Can You Keep A Secret? and Twenties Girl. Great reads!

    • On Mitch Albom’s books, yes Zen, they are! Plus, it has a lot of quote-worthy statements throughout the book where it touches the deepest core of the heart. :)

      I haven’t read the Shopaholic series so I’m sure that that’s not it. And as I googled it, it just so happened that I mixed it up with Meg Cabot’s Every Boy’s Got One! Haha! And the book before that, the one with the dog, the title is The Boy Next Door. I think, what I started Sophie Kinsells reads before was the Can You Keep a Secret or Undomestic Goddess but I wasn’t able to finish it. Hence, I should make sure I’ll have them read this season. And the Twenties Girl, I would definitely have it on my reads too! Thanks for the advice! :)

  2. Hi, I’ve read Twillight and The Hunger Games and they’re quite good. I’d recommend them highly! I love meeting someone who loves book’s, because I read a lot and love it! I hope your blog catches fire! Thank you for the follow! Keep writing!

    • I haven’t finished reading the Twilight series, I think I have to add that to my list to. And The Hunger Games, I think, it is really good and I’m planning to finish it as soon as I can. :) Thanks for the recommendations!

      I’m starting to love reading too. And I love to hear what other bookworms got under their suitcases–I mean, what other books they read that they would recommend.

      Thank you also for the follow! I’d love to read more of you’re writing! I’m looking forward to it! Have a great day! :D

Leave a Reply

