Dear Abby

If Isa Garcia has Dear Patty, I got something for you Abby! Haha!

20120622-100440.jpg
Hence the title. :)

It’s hard to say goodbye to someone you barely even had a chance to be with (but you would love to bond with) for quite sometime. It’s like eating an 18-inch New York’s Finest pizza with only three minutes on your shot clock – as much as you wanted to enjoy very bite of it, you have to let go once the clock strikes three. It’s hard. It’s like you haven’t even said the how are you after the Hi and yet you are bound to say goodbye. Oh well, life gets unpredictable like that – the beauty, you see, is in the simplest things before the boat splashed onto the rocks of the high waters.

Dear (Ate) Abby, we don’t have a lot of memories but I do remember moments when your being genuine, sincere and dependent on God made me admire you on a high level (well, all the girls too at DGroup had a fair share of my admirations – you guys inspire me A LOT). That’s apart from your confidence and strong personality which I think, is just an overflow of your love for something, for Someone greater.

It is sweet of you when you asked me if I wanted to taste the Ginger Ale you bought on your way to our DGroup one Thursday night. When I said it’s okay, and you thought I don’t like to taste it, I really meant yes I wanted to taste. Haha! It’s just that sometimes I get dumbfounded and tongue-tied when talking to people who I only met for the first time. I’m not so good with that. But you, you effortlessly can ask a total stranger if she wanted a drink you bought. And I thought you are cool doing so. You see, people who do acts of random kindness to me, I make a big deal out of whatever small they did. That’s because, the simplest things are what can touch the beating human heart. And you touched mine since then.

And then couple of weeks later, you were chosen to host the Networking Event. You were not shy. You were confident being the Master of Ceremonies and Games. Yes, you were confident but definitely grounded. It’s not something you did to get praise from people. It’s something you did for God’s people to praise and fellowship together. That’s another point for admiration. When the time of worship came, I saw how you sing – it’s with heart, passion and fire. It’s your declaration of your love for our Father. I was blessed by that.

In a short span of knowing you, you modeled one thing to me: you are living and totally devoted to our good Lord. In fact, your life and actions carry out the gospel. It carries out Christ. It’s wonderful. It’s priceless.

You showed me (even the rest of the girls) how sweet it is to be in the presence of the Almighty – being succumbed with His great big plans, stepping out of your comfort zone to do His will, and sharing Him to others just because you are living for Him. It’s ohhh-some dearest Abby.

20120622-100544.jpg
You had been one fruitful branch among these. :)

Now that you’re off to somewhere where you’d be independent most of the time, I pray that you would continue to live in Christ and with Christ. Be that woman full of confidence, not on her own strength, but of her Father. Be hopeful and hold on to faith when you lose sight of the shore. Be not afraid to live and breathe and let go. Do things you never thought of doing and learn from them. Go play in the mud when it rains. There may be bruises and scars along the way but you’ll need them; they’re like weapons of how you were trained to be a fighter. Be that fighter of life, courageous and true.

Dear Abby, may favor be on you. May the angels protect you. Know that I, even when we haven’t had a lot of memories, and the rest of the girls in our DGroup will definitely miss you!

20120622-100636.jpg
I don’t know when you’d be able to read this (or maybe not), but we’ll pray for you. Have a safe trip Abby! :)

6 thoughts on “Dear Abby

    • Ate Girls! :) Thank you! Sana mabasa ni Ate Abby soon! Pero, actually, I can write many things about all the girls in the group dahil wagas lang ang pag-inspire nio saken (each one of you). :D

  1. awww.. Thank you Kriselle! Nung sinabi mong you’ll write something about me, I didn’t know it’ll be this grand. Sobrang natuwa at nalungkot din ako at the same time. I’m happy to inspire. I wish I had known you better. For sure, I’ll learn a lot from you. :-) I’ll miss you girls. Please continue praying for me. I’m safe here and my journey starts on Monday.

  2. Pingback: When it suits??? « Teh's Tales, Ian's Yarns

Leave a Reply

