I Ransacked Manila International Book Fair 2012 for Two Hours (YES!terday)

And it wouldn’t be possible if not for Tita Ayds (le officemate) who gave me a free tix last week:

20120916-163221.jpg

She is very kind! :)

The Manila International Book Fair 2012 had been running since September 12 and today would be its last day. So, what are you waiting for? Drop by NOW. You only got til 8pm to grab ’em all discounted books!

I was able to go there yesterday at around 4:30ish in the afternoon. I have settled (in my mind and pocket) on a maximum P500-budget in buying whatever book that I might need or want. I have been in this whole ‘budgeting’ thing within the last four months already. If you’re a family member or a close friend, you’ll probably understand what I’m saying. Haha! But things just have to happen, don’t they?

When I first came in, I was surprised by how wide the place is and how many the books are to fit in those wide open spaces. Good thing, they have directories such as this:

20120916-163318.jpg

It’s kind of wide so you have to be strategic as to what aisle you will visit first. If you’re like me who’s following a strict budget, go where your preferences would thoroughly be suited. As for me, Aisle K where OMF Literature Inc. is located, is the first stop.

20120916-163412.jpg
Buying Sir Ronald Molmisa’s Lovestruck (original and single’s edition) was already on my mind. I haven’t read the book yet, but, I heard that it’s really good. Ergo, that has been one of my purpose at the fair. I’ll enumerate the books that I bought later on.

OMF was very good at entertaining shoppers as they also have a live band singing worship songs which surely boosts and uplifts one’s spirit. :)

I only stayed 30 to 40 minutes at OMF and my P500-budget was already splurged with six books (2 major books + 4 mini books). I consumed my maximum. However, I still roam around the SMX Hall just to check if I’m missing out some other things or some other books like…

20120916-163515.jpg

This one: The Hunger Games (series). I bet this is also at a discounted price, but I can’t afford it yet. Haha! So for now, iBooks will do. I’m already on Mocking Jay, btw. :)

Going back, MIBF 2012 is also a good springboard for the fans (to meet the authors of their favorite books) and the book authors (to meet their actual readers) and the promotion of the book itself. Some recognizable personalities was there too:

20120916-163600.jpg
Jane (Rita Avila) of Walang Hanggan is there to promote her story book for children.

20120916-163651.jpg
Loraxx is there too! The downside of not having companions in this kind of event: I can’t take a picture with Loraxx. Boohoo. :/ #kidatheartforever

20120916-163738.jpg

20120916-163759.jpg

Epic stolen shot of Sir Ramon Bautista and Tado Jimenez! HAHA. When I saw them, I was like, ‘Wow! Dream come true!’ I don’t quite have enough moohlah so I befit myself in taking photos of them unnoticed. :P

Here are the books and stuffs that I bought from the fair:

Let us have it one by one. I got these all in 20-30% discount. :)


These books are in total of P617:
•I Kissed Dating Goodbye by Joshua Harris
•Boy Meets Girl by Joshua Harris
•Lovestruck by Ronald Molmisa (the original version, I’ll give as a gift to my brother’s girlfriend, Ate Reena; the other one is also requested by my friend, Mari)
•Ang Pera na Hindi Bitin by Eduardo Roberto Jr. (I need financial advise, you know, lol)
•When God Writes Your Love Story by Eric and Leslie Ludy


These ballers, I got them for P80 only. I love it! If I only got a lot of money, I would’ve buy a lot of these. But I only got the 2 Corinthians 5:7 and Matthew 19:26. Coolest thing ever!

Aaaaaaaaaand, look what I got my hands into (finally)!!!! The Morning Rush Top Ten: The Best of Chico Garcia and Delamar Arias! I’ve been a Rusher since College days, roughly 3-4 years already. I just bought this yesterday as well (I know) after hopping by four bookstores. I was looking for this book in the fair but it wasn’t available at National Bookstore or Fully Booked there. A friendly advise: grab your copy of this now while supplies last (only for P175)! You don’t wanna miss it. Just like the Professional Heckler says, this is breathtaking information. This is brilliant, flashing insight! :)

All that (and I’m sure there’s more) happened in Manila International Book Fair 2012 (plus a bit of a tour at PowerBooks)!

And yes, judging from my receipts, I overspent. I got to rearrange my budget allowance for the month all over again. Haha!

Next time, I’ll save more so I can have more. #booksareluv :)

Leave a Reply

