So We Borrowed Something From Frank O’hara

Over the weekends, I caught a movie on ETC called Wild Child. It was an old movie where Emma Roberts (Poppy Moore) starred in as a rebellious Malibu princess shipped to study in an English boarding school by her father.

Big fan of Emma Roberts, represent! :)

As a sucker for chic flicks, it is imperative of me to get my cellphone and send a message about it to some of my friends called Tomblrs (Mari, Mayu, Jek and Shiela). You know how you have this favorite group of people you always bombard with any of your mundane activities in your life via group message? Yes, they are those people. Haha!

At home, we don’t have a Cable-TV. The street where we are located doesn’t really have a nice reception to show you a number of channels; ergo, even we are Kapamilyas by heart, we are at the court of the Kapusos. In that particular night, though, it was a good thing that ETC was up even if the signal was not too crystal.

In the movie, there was this scene where Emma had a date with the headmistress’ son – which was kind of sweet, by the way – and it dawned on me how familiar the face of the actor was. I just can’t recognize it since our TV was kind of grainy so I had to confirm if he was the actor who I think he is with Tomblrs. And when I found out that I was right, I was even more ecstatic! The lead man was none other than Alex Pettyfer (Freddie Kingsley in the movie)!!! Yup, my I Am Number Four / Beastly beloved was a young English gentleman at Wild Child! And that’s where me and my friend, Shiela, went ballistic! Haha! When girls like something, they fight for it til death. In our case, we fight through poems. Lol. It’s like who loves Alex better – Nins or Shels? #medyochildish #notworthblogging #butstill

When I thought she had forgotten about it, Shiela went for her first mini poem for Alex last Monday. It goes,

Having a Coke with you
Is even more better than me having the grandest vacation in Boracay or Puerto Galera…
Because the sun and the beach looked tame when I stare in the depths of your eyes.
Because my most beautifully-written fairy tale is coming true when I’m with you.

Sheila improvised and patterned her poem from the famous scene at the other Alex Pettyfer movie – Beastly – where he read a Frank O’hara masterpiece: Having a Coke with You#kilig

My favorite line from the poem <3

Shiela’s not the kind who surrenders an admiration, especially for Alex, she even said:

I love him like the Summer’s blue sky. I love him like the Autumn’s maple leaves. I guess I would need dozens pair of seasons to describe how I love him.

Her famous Wattpad Story was also inspired by Alex. Now, I cannot top that. That’s big time art! HAHA. I’m really proud of her and my other friend Mari (her editor) since the story reached two million awesomesauce reads already! Woohoo! However, it wasn’t a call to give up my admiration for Alex too, you know. So I also responded with a poem yesterday. We’re still borrowing Sir O’hara’s framework on this one…

Having a Coke with you
Is even more wonderful than watching Manila sunset at the bay at 5:45 in the afternoon
Partly because your smile speaks tons of stories I will never get tired of hearing; I bet, til dawn
Party because your smell makes me dizzy just like Manila pollution — and you know, dizzy is good
Partly because of my love for poetry and that your very presence makes me want to string in words which I could make as poems
I wouldn’t mind traffic because there’s not a time wasted
Being with you makes me hope, being with you makes me believe that sunsets doesn’t always mean endings
That sometimes, all we really have to do is just marvel at the beauty of an orange horizon
And it is my privilege to gaze beauty in its rawness that is you

I intended for it to be four stanzas only but I got carried away a little bit. Haha!

So, what’s the lesson here? Nothing actually. Haha! It’s just that it’s nice to pour out your emotions into words, most times – it’s the way you make poetry. You do it with your heart. Whatever fuels your inspiration, hold on to it, remember what it feels like. One day, don’t be afraid to make an art out of it. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

