Someday, I’m Gonna Receive Flowers

It has always been stressed out that Love is something worth waiting for. And I have been in this whole business of Waiting for more than two decades already. And yes, I am getting to the point of being stressed out (haha kidding I’m all for this Waiting Game)!

When I was younger, I always dreamt of meeting “the One.” My God’s Best (GB): the person whom God will bring into my life which will make my heart skip a beat; the person who will shower me with all the attention and care that I needed; the person who will tell me that I’m the most beautiful girl in the world and mean it; the person who will do everything to protect me and make me happy; the person who will settle down with me to build our own home and family (I’m thinking five kids haha); the person who will choose me for who I am and who I am not – no matter how clichรฉ that “choosing me” sounded – period. I planned everything when I was fifteen and was about to graduate high school. After four years in College, I’d have a stable job for about two or three years, thereafter, I should’ve met him already. I would be 23 at that point and we would spend four or five years of being together before he would propose to me. By the age of 28, I’ll get married and live happily ever after. HAHA too much daydreaming, fairytales and Disney movies!

Currently, I now hit the I-should-have-already-met-the-One-by-this-time mark which my younger self had planned all along. Obviously, though, it wasn’t a well-executed plan as I expected it to be. But hey, I’m still 23, anything can happen! Who knows? Lol I never thought Waiting could be a thermometer of Courage. As Time contribute years to your life on Earth, it also add fears and doubts to your conviction that this whole thing they call Love will be worth the wait til the end.

We should commend the catalyst who invented the Day of Love which the entire universe celebrates at this very moment, though. It makes all of us who are still waiting realize how it is too difficult to keep up with what we’re doing when everyone around us have already found their match. Life can be a pain, sometimes lol. It’s especially hard when you haven’t experienced being found by someone ever, yet. I’m gonna be honest, the longing grows deep; thus, making this journey a very tough ride.

Last Friday, eve of Valentine’s, some of the guys at the office bought bouquet of flowers for their special someones. It’s wonderful to see the efforts that these souls are willing to take just to make their other half feel exceptional on the day made for Love to be acknowledged. That although some of them doesn’t believe in the idea of “giving flowers” because they said, “flowers die,” they’d still give the flowers anyway because it’s a gesture which their loved ones will appreciate. They’re so in love :) At that time I thought, when will my turn come? When will someone bother to think if I’d like some flowers on Valentine’s or even in any ordinary day? When will Love take place? When will the Wait be over?

Too many questions but no definite answers.

Maybe love lives inside of us. Maybe love is meant for us to give to someone else. Maybe love will find its way to us when we’re out in the porch, watching the sunset and singing with all our hearts in a song by our favorite boyband of the 90s. Maybe Love is just around the corner and will hit us fast with smack in the face when we believe it. (Me three years ago, sometimes I make sense haha)

I still believe in Love and I’m never gonna stop. I still believe in the beautiful struggle of Waiting. Damn, it’s so hard but I still believe that there is someone out there for me. That someday someone will have the courage to ask me out on a date. That someday someone will have the boldness to tell me what his feelings are for me and how he is so ready to take the risk and see if we have a shot at chance. That someday someone will hold my hand whenever and wherever and even without any reason at all. That someday someone will always stretch the widest smile at the sight of my presence. That someday someone will give me flowers even if he doesn’t believe in the idea of giving flowers.

I’m not certain when will our story unfold, all I know is our story has been written down by such an amazing Author who will grant the desires of our hearts in the most perfect time, perfect place, and with the perfect person. I know someday, someone will come and tell me that Love has arrived and that the long Wait is finally over. I know someday, Valentine’s or not, I’m gonna receive those flowers. :)

One thought on “Someday, I’m Gonna Receive Flowers

Leave a Reply

