The Street Performer and the Sugarfree Song

I had discovered a new way to battle stress and earn inspiration and that is: to run! Haha! :)

I had made a schedule of T-Th-S run nights and thank God for will power and discipline, I was at it for a month now (not counting last week since I got a full sched and wasn’t able to do some runs). And since I was stressed out yesternight – don’t worry, my primary cause of stress is myself, I think a lot about this thing I should be doing yet I’m not putting in the effort to finish it which causes my hormones to strain my neck and give me severe headaches – I decided that it was the right time to revamp my Run Game. The last week run that I had was just below the target line of the previous runs so I’m trying my hardest to get back on that run-game-face. But my new found passion for running is not the sole purpose of this entry (I could talk about that some other time soon).

Just got carried away at the moment. Sorry.

I run at Track 30 in Bonifacio Global City because it’s nice to run there and it’s just fifteen-jeepney-minutes away from our house. To go there, I shall pass through Market Market then Bonifcaio High Street then to Track 30. Btdubs, BHS will be the setting of the story. (haba lang ng intro lol)

As I was on my way home yesternight, I passed by a Street Performer whom was also there when I was on my way to my run. Did you get that? Pardon my English; it’s just messed up sometimes. The Street Performer got an old OPM song lined up that night and when he sang the chorus as I was passing by him, it just really gives me the feels. THE. FEELS. You know how a song works and stir your core, right? That’s what it did at that moment and it made me think of many many things to which also reminded me of a love story a Pastor at our church shared last Sunday.

The story was about a mother’s love for her daughter who left their village to pursue the life in the city. At such a young age, the daughter thought that if she will get into the city, she will live the life that she has always dreamed of. One day she left home without saying goodbye to her mother. When the mother found out that her daughter was gone, she sold everything she have and went looking for her in the city because she knew that that’s the place her daughter went. In the city, she printed out photos of her daughter and posted it in every hotel in the hope to find her. Months passed and she doesn’t have anything that would lead to her daughter and so she went back to the village. After a few years, the daughter’s life became chaotic and hopeless; as she was walking down the streets, at a shady hotel she found a familiar photo by the window, she recognized that the little girl in the photo was her, she knew that her mother went looking for her when she ran from home. She looked at the back of the photo and saw her mother’s handwriting:

Wherever you are, whatever you have done, whatever you have become, I love you. Please come home.

The daughter did and she was reconciled with her mother. Love. That was just pure love of a mother.

From the OPM song that I heard from the Street Performer, the line that captured my soul was:

Kung wala ka ng makapitan
(If you don’t have someone to hold on to)
Kapit ka sa Akin, kapit ka sa Akin
(Hold on to Me, Hold on to Me)
Hindi Kita bibitawan
(I will never let you go)

And I thought the Lord was speaking to me just like the mother’s handwriting spoke to the heart of her daughter in the love story.

When I got home, the first thing I did is to search for the title and the whole lyrics of the song since it was years ago when I heard it. The title of the OPM song was Wag Ka Nang Umiyak (Please Don’t Cry) by Sugarfree.

(I won’t be translating from here)

Wag ka nang umiyak sa mundong pabago-bago
Pag-ibig ko ay totoo
Ako ang iyong bangka
Kung magalit man ang alon at panahon
Sabay tayong aahon

Chorus:
Kung wala ka ng maintindihan
Kung wala ka ng makapitan
Kapit ka sa akin (kapit ka sa akin)
Hindi kita bibitawan

Wag ka nang umiyak mahaba man ang araw
Uuwi ka sa yakap ko
Wag mo nang damdamin
Kung wala ako sa iyong tabi
Iiwan ko ang puso ko sayo
At kung pakiramdaman mo’y
Wala ka ng kakampi
Isipin mo ako dahil
Puso’t isip ko’y nasa iyong tabi

Kung wala ka nang maintindihan
Kung wala ka nang makapitan
Kapit ka sa akin (kapit ka sa akin)
Hindi kita bibitawan
Hindi kita paba-bayaan (di kita paba-bayaan)
Kapit ka… kumapit ka…

I know that it’s a love song (for a person) but I really feel that this is what God is saying to each one of us.

You know, it is a fact that the Lord loves us. It will never ever change no matter what the circumstances in our life are or how we respond to them, etc etc. Jesus loves us, it’s a constant. The question is, do we love Him? Do we love our Father that we would want to hold on to Him when everything around us fails and falls? He is always there looking out for us and it’s not because of what we’ve done, it is because He is what He is. He is love. He loves us. He’s there for us not because we are great but because He is great.

And that’s why we love Him, because He first loved us.

The song is just too sweet of a reminder: Kumapit ka sa Akin at hindi Kita bibitawan (hold on to Me and I will never let you go). We only need to run… Run to the arms of our One true GOD! :)

PS: Wag Ka Nang Umiyak was such a bad title for this song. I was teary-eyed when I felt every line of it. Haha! Ain’t it so good? Thank you Lord for music! #nakakakiligKalang :)

 

6 thoughts on “The Street Performer and the Sugarfree Song

    • Yes. Ang cool lang ng song nato. Hehe. I was suppose to post the KZ version but I wanted to give credits to the band who first sang it. Lol. I miss you Nayra, see you tonight! :)

  1. Pingback: Rest, in Filipino, is Magpahinga. – Write By Syllable

Leave a comment